Takutai - Yrs 1 & 2

Megan Pelvin - acting Team Leader Takutai-nui (years 1-2) and Room 10 teacher

Megan has been at St Clair School since 2013 teaching at various levels in the junior team. She is a very experienced teacher with a passion for literacy and mathematics, and has spent a number of years as a reading recovery teacher.

Email: mpelvin@stclair.school.nz

Room Koru - Aneka Gaul

Aneka provides a warm welcome for our youngest learners. Her strong background in preschool and new entrant education ensures that key literacy and numeracy skills are acquired smoothly. Aneka has returned to St Clair from 18 months parental leave, and is excited about sharing the excitement of starting school with children and their families.

Email: agaul@stclair.school.nz

Room 2 - Beth Fairbairn

Beth brings strengths in literacy, numeracy and science to room 2. Her background in junior education ensures that early literacy and numeracy skills are built on positively. Beth has returned to St Clair from parental leave, and will be opening our last new entrant class in 2020.

Email: bfairbairn@stclair.school.nz

Room 4 - Michelle Reece - acting Team Leader Takutai-iti (year 1)

Michelle is one of our key reception class teachers. She provides a warm and safe welcome for our newest learners and has the specific skills needed to ensure a smooth start to formal learning for all children in her care.

Email: mreece@stclair.school.nz

Room 5 - Olivia Hogan

Olivia joined the new entrant team in 2019 and began her teaching career at St Clair School. Olivia brings a calm enthusiasm to teaching, with a friendly, positive personality.

Email: ohogan@stclair.school.nz

Room 6 - Rebecca Tamblyn

Becky's creative flair and love of literacy is a real asset for our school. Becky is a very experienced junior school teacher, and recently completed two years training and teaching of reading recovery. Becky has real strengths in dance and a passion to meet the needs of all children in her care.

Email: rtamblyn@stclair.school.nz


Room 7 - Scotty Lane

Scotty brings strengths in technology and social sciences to room 7, having joined our team in 2019. He initially taught as a secondary teacher, but has retrained, and has come into the primary sector. Scotty has a young family and has a passion for bringing fun into the learning programme.

Email: slane@stclair.school.nz

Room 8 - Tom Renwick

Tom joins team Takutai in 2020, bringing with him strengths in digital technology and physical education. He is a strong driver of student agency and this is evident in his literacy and numeracy programmes. Tom has a passion for working with diverse learners and forming positive partnerships with their families and whānau.

Email: trenwick@stclair.school.nz

Room 9 - Jo Pledger

Jo is an experienced teacher, who has been a member of the St Clair team since 2016. She builds caring and supportive relationships with students and has a real strength in bringing a Māori perspective to her teaching.

Email: jpledger@stclair.school.nz

Room 5 release teacher - Sonya Menzies

Sonya provides release each week in room 5, and brings her calm expertise into the new entrant classroom.

Email: rwood@stclair.school.nz

Rooms 7 and 10 - classroom release teacher - Sally Marett

Miss Marett provides the leadership release in team Takutai, and teaches in rooms 10 and 4 on Fridays. She also teaches in room 7 to provide release for Scotty. Miss Marett knows all of the children across the Takutai team well, and enjoys working with the learners each week in their home class environment.

Email: smarett@stclair.school.nz

Learning Support - Helen Thomson

Helen's association with the school spans over three decades. She has an extensive background in education and in the past has also been a lead teacher in a local kindergarten. Helen brings a high level of skill to our year 1 and 2 learning support programmes.

email: hthomson@stclair.school.nz

Learning Support - Pania Douglas

Pania joined us in 2019 as a learning support member in team Takutai. Pania has been involved in schools for many years with paid and unpaid work. She brings a calm positivity to our team, and has a great depth of empathy and understanding for the children she supports.

email: pdouglas@stclair.school.nz

Learning Support - Karena Turnock

Karena has joined us in 2019 and provides a gentle caring support for children at out school. Karena works quietly with children, helping them learn the things that are important to them.

email: kturnock@stclair.school.nz

Learning Support - Jo Preston

Jo has been a much valued member of our support staff for a number of years. Her work is focused on learning support and social skill development. Her work ethic is much appreciated, and her willingness to do whatever is needed for our children is valued.

email: jpreston@stclair.school.nz

Learning Support - Andrea Hamilton

Andrea is working in the Takutai-nui space as well as the Tahatū team, supporting children across our school. Andrea is organised and efficient, with a desire to keep active and involved. She quietly ensures that the things that need to be done are done in the most efficient way!

email: ahamilton@stclair.school.nz

Learning Support - Jenny Maclaren

Jenny is new to the St Clair team this year, joining us to work with children across the school. Jenny has a background in health care and education, and brings a positive, gentle outlook to her work.

email: jmaclaren@stclair.school.nz

Learning Support - Philippa Cosgrove

Philippa comes to us with seven years experience working in the early learning sector, and joins the team to support some children in Takutai. Philippa's bubbly, outgoing nature ensures she meets the needs of the children in her care.

email: jmaclaren@stclair.school.nz