Takutai - New Entrant, Year 1&2

Michelle Reece

Room 4 - Team Leader Takutai-iti (year 1)

Michelle is one of our key reception class teachers. She provides a warm and safe welcome for our newest learners and has the specific skills needed to ensure a smooth start to formal learning for all children in her care. Michelle works closely with the Early Learning Centres who contribute to our kura, and ensures a positve transition into our school for families and ākonga.

Email: mreece@stclair.school.nz

Kate Clydesdale

Koru

Miss Kate returns to the Takutai-iti team after two years with Ngaru. Miss Kate's kind and compassionate nature makes sure that all of the needs of our newest members of the school are met. She has strengths in literacy and a passion for visual art.

Email: kclydesdale@stclair.school.nz

Aneka Gaul

Room 5

Aneka provides a warm welcome for our youngest learners. Her strong background in preschool and new entrant education ensures that key literacy and numeracy skills are acquired smoothly. Aneka enjoys sharing the excitement of starting school with children and their whānau

Email: agaul@stclair.school.nz

Rosalind Quatermass

Room 6

Rosalind joins us in 2022 as a beginning teacher. Rosalind brings many strengths to teaching, including music, sporting and cultural interests. Rosalind strengths lie in her organisation and relationship skills. She is passionate about making a difference in the lives of her ākonga.

Email: rquatermass@stclair.school.nz

Rachel French

Room 10 - Team Leader Takutai-nui (years 1-2)

Rachel joined our teaching team in 2007. She has a particular interest and strength in teaching mathematics. Rachel has taught in several schools and has worked as a numeracy facilitator for the Dunedin College of Education, presenting nationally and internationally in this area. She is passionate about collaborative teaching and brings strengths with this into her practice. She has recently completed two years training as a reading recovery teacher, and has led the year 1-2 team since 2021.

Email: rfrench@stclair.school.nz

Tania Hammond

Room 7

Mrs Hammond joined us in 2018 after spending many years in education, including time as an RTLB. Mrs Hammond is an excellent teacher of literacy, having trained in reading recovery. She also is passionate about teaching mathematics, and has led this area in previous schools. Mrs Hammond is a bubbly, positive, and motivated teacher who builds strong positive relationships with her students.

Email: thammond@stclair.school.nz

Tom Renwick

Room 8

Tom is an experienced teacher who joined the Takutai-nui team in 2020. He is a strong driver of learner agency and this is evident in the way he supports akonga to lead their own learning. Tom has passion for learning through play, which he keenly shares with the team and other kaiako. In addition to teaching in Rūma Waru, Tom helps to coordinate sports at St Clair School.

Email: trenwick@stclair.school.nz

Rebecca Tamblyn

Room 9

Becky's creative flair and love of literacy is a real asset for our school. Becky is a very experienced junior school teacher, and recently completed two years training and teaching of reading recovery. Becky has real strengths in dance and a passion to meet the needs of all children in her care.

Email: rtamblyn@stclair.school.nz

Sonya Menzies

Room 4 Classroom release teacher

Sonya will teach in room 4 one day a fortnight, to release Michelle. Sonya is a very experienced teacher who has working in our kura for many years as a reliever and part time teacher. Sonya's calm and positive nature ensures she is a favourite with the children.

Email: smenzies@stclair.school.nz

Amy Bathgate

Room 10 Classroom release teacher

Amy will be releasing Rachel once a fortnight, and will teach in room 10. Amy is an experienced teacher, who has relieved at all levels of our kura.

Email: abathgate@stclair.school.nz

Alison Caldwell

Specialised Music

Alison Caldwell works with all classes once a week providing a specialised music programme. She is an enthusiastic and capable teacher, and is a highly skilled music specialist. She has an enthusiasm for her work which sees children achieving high standards within a varied and stimulating music programme. Ali also coordinates our school marimba, choir, rock band and guitar groups.

Alison is also assisting with our communication regarding Covid-19

Email: acaldwell@stclair.school.nz

Stacey Hemi

P.E Specialist Teacher

Stacey Hemi works with all classes once a week providing a specialised PE programme. Stacey is a very experienced teacher, with a passion for PE and sports. She runs a skills based PE programme with each class, in a 45 minute lesson each week.

Email: shemi@stclair.school.nz

Eloise Sime

Specialised Music

Eloise has spent the last several years as a specialist music teacher and brings her experience and enthusiasm to our school for this term whilst Alison Caldwell is on study leave. Eloise has a special interest in drumming and percussion.

Email: esime@stclair.school.nz